ALA Midwinter-Where to Find Me and What I’m Looking Forward To

alamw15-header

So, in a few days I’ll be heading to Chicago for the American Library Association’s (ALA) Midwinter Meeting (sidenote to conference coordinators: why can’t the midwinter events be in WARM places?!?)  Although I’m not really looking forward to the cold (at least it won’t be snowing, right?), I am looking forward to connecting with librarian friends, attending some interesting sessions, and, of course, getting my hands on some ARCS of upcoming titles (lucky for me, this is both a professional AND personal benefit).

If you are also going to be in Chicago this weekend, here are some places you might find me:

ERT/Booklist Author Forum-I know graphic novels are super popular and a great way to get kids reading, but I still don’t feel that confident about developing a great graphic novel collection, so I’m looking forward to learning even more about them during this session.

ALA Masters Series-Start a Revolution: Stop Acting Like a Library-While I’m still a firm believer in libraries as places to find books, I also see libraries as community centers, and as such they need to meet their communities’ needs, which include more than just books.  So it will be interesting to hear what other libraries have done/are doing to innovate and provide good services for their patrons.

Best Fiction for Young Adults Teen Feedback Session-This is my first Midwinter meeting, so it’s my first opportunity to attend one of these feedback sessions, but I’ve heard in years past that it’s great to hear what teens have to say about books, and I’m really looking forward to it.

Women In Geekdom: How to Reach Out to the Nerds in Your Community-This sounds like a fun exploration of pop culture as well as a way to steal some cool programming ideas from great librarians.  Plus I love the focus on women-there are plenty of female nerds who can see the library as a place for them.

YA Smackdown-Although I don’t work in a public library, I do work with teens, and I think this will be a great opportunity to learn from and share with some great librarians.

ALA Youth Media Awards-So excited to get to go to the YMAs in person instead of watching the webcast this year!

These are just a few of the sessions I’m hoping to attend, in addition to a couple of the Book Buzz Theater events.  I’ll also be spending a fair amount of time in the exhibit hall, checking out what upcoming titles publishers are promoting. Here are a few of the books I’m really hoping to find at the conference:

PicMonkey Collage

Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen-Sarah Dessen is an auto-read for me; her characters are always so interesting and compelling, and this book sounds like it’s going to be as good as the rest.

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas-While I would prefer the next installment of the Throne of Glass series, because I NEED TO KNOW what happens, this new series sounds equally intriguing (and swoony).

Emmy and Oliver by Robin Benway-This book has an interesting concept, and I LOVED the Also Known As books, so I’m excited to read more from Robin Benway.

Tonight the Streets are Ours by Leila Sales-Frankly, the concept of this one is a tiny bit creepy to me, but I’ve loved the author’s previous books, so I want to give it a shot.

The Devil You Know by Trish Doller– Trish Doller is SO great.  Plus I love road trip books, and this one has a very interesting twist to it.

Plus my super long shot because from the sounds of Twitter she’s still editing but I really, really, really want it book: P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han- I’ve read all of Jenny Han’s books, and enjoyed them all, but To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before was, far and away, her best work.  and I need to know what happens next.

Are you going to be at ALA Midwinter?  What are you looking forward to?  What books are you excited to get your hands on?

Leave a Reply

