January Reads

So I figured since I’m going to be blogging for one of my classes this semester, I might as well try to get back to blogging about other personal/library things as well.  This is my last semester in library school, so I’m sure you can expect some posts about that, as well as my favorite free time activity: reading!  I’m going to try to post about certain books I love, but at the very least I’m going to aim to get monthly reading roundups posted.  So, without further ado, here are the books I read in January:

1. The Sea of Monsters (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #2) by Rick Riordan-So I started reading this series because my boyfriend and I watched both of the movies, and then he became interested in reading the books.  I decided to give them a try as well, even though I’m not a huge fan of mythology, but I ended up really liking them.  They’ve got a lot of action and were pretty quick reads.

2. The Testing by Joelle Charbonneau-Got this and the second in the series at BEA last year, and after I started reading, I hated that I’d put them off for so long.  A lot of people draw parallels between this and The Hunger Games series, but I enjoyed it despite the similarities, maybe even liked it a little more.

3. The Titan’s Curse (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #3) by Rick Riordan-I’m not sure I liked this one as much as the first two, but I did enjoy some of the new characters that showed up in this installment.

4. The Battle of the Labyrinth (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #4) by Rick Riordan-I think this might be my favorite book in the series.

5. The Last Olympian (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #5) by Rick Riordan-Everything leading up to a big battle sort of reminded me a little too much of Harry Potter, but Goodreads tells me I gave it 4 stars, so I must have found some redeeming qualities.

6. Six Months Later by Natalie Richards-After all that Percy Jackson, I needed something a little more real.  At first I wasn’t quite sure what to make of this book about a girl who wakes up not remembering the last 6 months of her life, but it ended up being a solid read for me.

7. The Lost Hero (The Heroes of Olympus, #1) by Rick Riordan-At first I was hesitant to read this series-I loved the original characters so much, I didn’t want new ones.  But it turns out I didn’t hate them.

8. Just One Year by Gayle Forman-I liked this book more than I thought I would.  I would have preferred some more Willem and Allyson time, but I enjoyed Willem’s journey.

9. The Son of Neptune (The Heroes of Olympus, #2) by Rick Riordan-I had a feeling about this one after reading The Lost Hero, and I wasn’t really a fan of what happened…that being said, I’m already invested.  So let the series continue.

10. The Mark of Athena (The Heroes of Olympus, #3) by Rick Riordan-I definitely loved having more Annabeth time in this book.  I do like that this series has multiple narrators-I think it makes it more interesting.  But-HOLY CLIFFHANGER.  Thank goodness I had the next book ready and waiting.

11. Independent Study by Joelle Charbonneau-2nd book in The Testing series.  I thought that some elements of the story were fairly predictable, in terms of how dystopian trilogies evolve, but I also think this series has something new to offer as well.  I really like the main character, I found it to be an enjoyable read, and I’m definitely looking forward to the conclusion.

12. The House of Hades (The Heroes of Olympus, #4) by Rick Riordan-There’s a lot going on in this installment of the story.  I liked all the action, but there were also some moments that made you think.  And Small Bob may be my favorite character ever.  A little impatient for October and the last book in the series.

13. Taken by Erin Bowman-Another BEA book that I put off for a while, and then devoured all in one sitting once I finally opened it.  Dystopian, but still interesting-I’m looking forward to the next book in April.

14. Better Off Friends by Elizabeth Eulberg-Eulberg is an automatic read for me, and it’s no surprise that I enjoyed this one.  Not my all-time favorite, but cute and funny.  I really love how she crafts her characters.

15. The Giver by Lois Lowry-I read this for a class I then decided to drop, but it was my first time reading it, and it was ok.  There are horrors in every dystopian novel, but there were some things in this one that really put me off, and I didn’t like the ending at all.

16. Finding It by Cora Carmack-I was drawn to the backpacking through Europe aspect of this book, so I decided to try it even though “new adult” isn’t really my thing.  This was a pretty quick read, but it wasn’t my favorite, and reminded me a lot of that Mandy Moore movie Chasing Liberty.

17. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes-Oh boy.  I don’t know what to say about this.  I sobbed through about the last 50 pages of the book.  Like serious, ugly cry, wailing.  I have very mixed feelings about the storyline, but I can’t deny that Moyes writes beautifully, and I loved the interactions between Louisa and Will.

18. Bright Before Sunrise by Tiffany Schmidt-It takes a lot to make a 24 hour romance work most of the time, and in this case, the characters just went from hatred/indifference to infatuation/passion way too quickly for me, especially in the case of the male main character.  There were definitely redeeming moments, but I didn’t love it.

19. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart-I wanted to love this book so much.  Frankie Landau-Banks is one of my all-time favorite characters, and I had really high hopes.  But this one just wasn’t my favorite-the writing seemed overly formal, and the “big reveal” just made things really weird to me.

This is an uncharacteristic amount of reading for me-I had the first 5 days of the month off, plus a long weekend in there, and two days off from work due to the extreme cold.  I don’t anticipate to keep up this pace, since I will have school work and work work and paperwork and some other obligations that will take time away from reading, but still, it was a nice way to start off the new year.

Leave a Reply

