#LR2012 Challenge: No! Wait! What? Killer Cliffhangers

Happy Sunday, friends.  I hope you’re all enjoying this last weekend before Christmas (or, you know, fourth weekend in December, for those of you who don’t celebrate Christmas).

I mentioned in my post a few days ago that I would be hosting a challenge as part of the Last Reads of 2012 Readathon, and that day has arrived!

Last Reads of 2012 ReadathonWant to know more about the readathon, or sign up?  Check out this post.

Today’s challenge is called No! Wait! What? Killer Cliffhangers.

You all know what I’m talking about.  These are the books that make us want to tear out our hair,

Pulling-Out-Hair

bite off all our fingernails,

nail-biting-disease

and personally berate the authors for messing with our mental well-being.

These books have endings that are BRUTAL.  They can leave you speechless, or breathless, or in tears.  I don’t know about you, but the anticipation of finding out what happens next nearly kills me.  I spend MONTHS thinking about all the possibilities, and run out to get the next book as soon as it comes out.

So here are some of the books I’ve read this year that have had killer cliffhangers.

pandemonium1. Pandemonium, by Lauren Oliver

So there are a couple of big things that happen near the end of this book.  I sort of figured that what happened on the last page was going to happen (sorry to be all vague, but I don’t want to spoil it for those who have yet to read the series!), but it was still pretty jarring, and such an abrupt ending!  I must know what is going to happen! And Requiem doesn’t come out until MARCH.  Darn you, Lauren Oliver!

spark2. Spark, by Amy Kathleen Ryan

Um, WHAT. In a lot of cases, the 2nd book in a trilogy can kind of drag.  SO NOT THE CASE HERE.  This book had action throughout, and just when it seemed like there would be a resolution, THAT ENDING.  What is going to happen?!?!  It’s going to bother me until next summer, when I can finally read the next book.

once3. Once, by Anna Carey

So I’m sort of hoping against hope that Caleb will pull an Alex in Delirum when Rise comes out, even though I realize that this is pretty much impossible, as well as completely irrational on my part.  Either way, TERRIBLE ENDING.  By which I mean, why do you write these things and then make us wait so long to see what happens next, silly authors?!?!?!  But also, despite my outrage at some of the final events, the very end has important implications for the future of the revolution against the government, so I WANT TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS.

variant4. Variant, by Robison Wells

Wow.  Just wow.  This whole book was one crazy revelation after another for me, and the ending?  How is that even possible?!?!?!  I haven’t yet read Feedback, since I really have to be in the right mood to read books like this (I’m hoping to get to it over my school break!), but I am really interested to see where the author takes things from here.

5. Crewel, by Gennifer Albin

So immediately after I finished this book, this happened:Screen Shot 2012-12-20 at 10.59.51 PM

goodreadsUnfortunately, since Crewel just came out a few months ago, it’ll be a while before I can find out what happens.  I really want to know more about the state of the world they arrived in at the end of the book, how the whole love triangle thing is going to work out, if there’s a way back…I just have SO MANY QUESTIONS.

In the meantime, though, I guess I can keep thinking about which brother I’d choose…

Well, there you have it: five books with endings that drove me crazy, and the continuations of which I am eagerly anticipating.

What were your ‘killer cliffhanger’ books this year?  Let me know in the comments, or write your own challenge post (you can do this even if you’re not participating in the readathon).  And ff you do write a post, feel free to link to it in the comments, so everyone can read it!

Reading Update

Finished: Lola and the Boy Next Door, by Stephanie Perkins; Long May She Reign, by Ellen Emerson White; A World Away, by Nancy Grossman; Beautiful Chaos, by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl; Bittersweet, by Sarah Ockler

Currently Reading: Let It Snow, by John Green, Maureen Johnson, and Lauren Myracle

One thought on “#LR2012 Challenge: No! Wait! What? Killer Cliffhangers

  1. Yes!! Totally agree with Pandemonium, Spark and Crewel. (I haven’t read Once or Variant.) I’d add the Evolution of Mara Dyer to my list!
    Thanks for hosting — I linked to your post in the Challenges List and I’ll tweet it right now!

Leave a Reply

