#LR2012 Challenge: Sleep? What’s That For?

Hello all!  Welcome to day 4 of the Last Reads of 2012 Readathon.

Not sure what I’m talking about?  Want to sign up? Find out more here.

Today’s challenge, hosted by Lily Lost in a Book, is called Sleep?  What’s that for?

In other words, we’re talking about those books so good we just couldn’t put them down-they kept us up all night!

I’m definitely guilty of picking up a book and not putting it down until I’ve finished it (even if it takes until the wee hours of the morning, and I have work/school the next day).  Here are some 2012 reads I just HAD to stay up all night to finish.

sisterhood1. Sisterhood Everlasting, by Ann Brashares

I was a HUGE fan of this series when it first came out, so when I found out there was a 5th book, and that it looked at what the girls were doing 10 years down the line, I couldn’t wait to get my hands on it.  Since I’ve always found these characters compelling, plus this book has a little bit of a mystery to it, I just couldn’t put it down.  I had to know how the girls would end up and if they would get a happy ending.  Needless to say, those of you who have read it will understand why I cried my eyes out while reading this one.

selection2. The Selection, by Kiera Cass

First of all, when I got this book, I didn’t realize that it was the first in a series.  So I stayed up until like 3 am to finish this book, and as I got to the end and realized there wasn’t going to be any resolution, I was SUPER irritated.  I don’t LOVE either of the romantic interests in this one, but I do love reading about royalty, and the society (the caste system, in particular), intrigues me.  So I don’t regret staying up to finish it, and I’m eagerly awaiting the second installment (with the hope that the prince finally opens his eyes and gets rid of that horribly snobby girl).

tfios3. The Fault in Our Stars, by John Green

I LOVE THIS BOOK SO MUCH.  I know I’m nowhere near the first person to proclaim my undying love for the works of John Green, but this is one of those books that I recommend to EVERYONE because it is THAT GOOD.  Yes, it is (really, horribly) sad.  Yes, the ending is perhaps a bit unsatisfying.  But there are few characters I have loved more than Hazel Grace and Augustus.  The writing is amazing, and I love that Green doesn’t dumb down the characters just because they are teenagers-I love the big words, and the snappy retorts, and just the intelligence of it all.  I stayed up late, and sobbed uncontrollably, and immediately began telling everyone to read it.

ready4. Ready Player One, by Ernest Cline

This book is really long, and took a bit for me to get into, and despite my love of 1980s pop culture, contained a lot of references I didn’t get.  But I loved it anyway.  A world in which everyone spends almost all their time in a virtual reality?  Super intriguing.  I also love scavenger hunts, virtual or otherwise.  This was just a really fun read-I had to know how things would end up!

goosegirl5. The Goose Girl, by Shannon Hale

I am so sad that it took me so long to discover Shannon Hale.  Her books are AMAZING.  I thought that Isi handled her situation so well, and was so resourceful.  Plus, I loved all of the supporting characters as well.  After staying up super late to finish this book, I immediately requested the three other books in the Books of Bayern series from the library-they are such a good choice for fantasy lovers!

So there you have it-these are the books that kept me up all night this year.  What are some of the books you couldn’t put down?  Let me know!

2 thoughts on “#LR2012 Challenge: Sleep? What’s That For?

  1. Okay I just added three of these books to my must read list! You convinced me — lol. Books that kept me up and reading until my eyes hurt… Slammed by Colleen Hoover, The Pink Carnation by Lauren Willig, The Crimson Petal and the White by Michel Faber, On Demon Wings and Lying Season by indie author Karina Halle.

Leave a Reply

