because what else do I have to do in the latter half of December?

So I’ve never really been one to keep track of every book I read, or set a goal of reading a certain number of books each year. My goal has pretty much always been to read as much as I can, whenever I can.  However, in my recent internet wanderings, I stumbled across the Last Reads of 2012 Readathon, hosted by Jen, Eileen, and Patrick.  I thought to myself, “hmm, that sounds like fun.  And I always have a ton of books I want to read anyway.  And it will be a way to motivate me to keep blogging now that the semester is over. And perhaps I’ll make some new internet friends.”  So then I said, “self, LET’S DO THIS.”

As readathons go, this one falls into the ‘laid back’ category.  You can read as many (or as few) books as you want, work toward completing a yearly goal or challenge, or not set a readathon goal AT ALL.  However, I am competitive, and I thought I should probably set some kind of goal for myself, even if it’s just ‘finish the library books you have checked out before they’re actually due.’  So I decided to spend some time this weekend figuring out exactly what and how many books I’ve read so far in 2012, in order to aid in creating said goal.  (Full disclosure: by ‘some time,’ I actually mean all of Saturday afternoon.  When you are not one of those people who sets numerical book goals and keeps a detailed list of every book you’ve read, remembering all the books you’ve read in 11.5 months is HARD.  Note to self: in 2013, YOU ARE KEEPING A LIST.)

Anyway, as it turns out, I’ve read somewhere around 146 books so far in 2012. (I say somewhere around 146 because I’m pretty sure I reread at least one of the Harry Potter books and possibly a few other books, but I can’t remember exactly, so I’m hedging my bets.)  So it would be logical to try to end the year at a nice, even number like 150, right?  But here’s the thing: 4 books in 15 days doesn’t seem like much of a challenge, especially when the majority of books I read are YA (i.e. quick reads).  So I’ve settled on a goal of reading 156 books for the year, meaning I’ll have to read 10 books during the readathon.  Why 156, you ask?  Well, there are 52 weeks in a year; 156 books averages out to 3 books a week, which sounds good to me.  Plus, 10 books averages out to less than a book a day, which will give me time during the readathon to do other things, like blog, write Christmas cards, and finally finish unpacking (yes, I moved in August.  SHUT UP.).

So, want to know what books are on the list for the readathon?  Well, let me tell you:

Beautiful Chaos, by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

Beautiful Redemption, by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

Speechless, by Hannah Harrington

The Forsaken, by Lisa M. Stasse

The Girls of No Return, by Erin Saldin

A World Away, by Nancy Grossman

Wither, by Lauren DeStefano

Lola and the Boy Next Door, by Stephanie Perkins

Vessel, by Sarah Beth Durst

A Partial History of Lost Causes, by Jennifer DuBois

This list is subject to change, of course, depending on what my mood is, what other books arrive for me at the library, if I get books for Christmas, etc.  Also, if you think there are any MUST READ, amazing, fantastic books that should be on my list, feel free to let me know in the comments-I never turn down book recommendations!

If you’re interested in joining the readathon, clicking on the picture at the top of the page will take you to Eileen’s blog, where you can sign up.  If you want to keep track of readathon participants’ progress, follow along on Twitter: #LR2012.  And check back here over the next few weeks; there might be some fun book-related posts!

Happy reading!

One thought on “because what else do I have to do in the latter half of December?

  1. I had no idea how many books I read in a year until this year. I started using Goodreads to keep track. And next year, I’m doing a nerdy Excel spreadsheet, because, like you, I wasted — I mean spent — a day making a nerdy spreadsheet so I could do end of year blog stats.

    But yes, this is a super laid back readathon. No competiveness — just some encouragement to finish a few last books in 2012 and look back on what you read.

    Glad you are joining us! We’re posting a list of challenges tomorrow that you can join if you feel like it!

Leave a Reply

