TBR Thursday: Teen Read Week

Let’s be real, friends: if I could get away with it, I would probably exclusively read YA novels.  So since this week is Teen Read Week, I thought I’d fill you in on a few teen books I can’t wait to read.

1. Wither, by Lauren DeStefano

A world where girls live until the age of 20, and boys live until 25.  I’m sure it’s a paradise.

2. Croak, by Gina Damico

Teen grim reaper with anger issues.  ‘Nuff said. (Ok, I can say a little more.  This is supposed to be HILARIOUS, plus I have a tendency to not read a lot of ‘boy’ books, and if I’m going to be a librarian, I need to read more widely [and yes, I realize I’m opening up potential controversy by even discussing the ‘gender’ of books.  Another topic for another day.])

3. Beautiful Creatures, by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

This has been on my radar for a while (especially since the movie is coming out in February), but I just hadn’t gotten around to it yet.  Then I was lucky enough to hear these ladies speak at the Southern Festival of Books this past weekend, and they were so hilarious and genuine, this shot to the top of my list.

4. Thirteen Reasons Why, by Jay Asher

Not a happy book, but one that is, unfortunately, increasingly important in society.  Narrated by a girl who committed suicide, and a boy who is one of the reasons why she did it.

5. Eve and Adam, by Michael Grant and Katherine Applegate

Summer job for a 16 year old girl: create the perfect boy. YES PLEASE.

What’s up next on your TBR list? Any YA books I should have on my radar? Let me know!

2 thoughts on “TBR Thursday: Teen Read Week

  1. Banned books week got me on a YA kick so after reading “the Absolute True Diary of a Part Time Indian”, I’m now reading “What My Mother Doesn’t Know” and “The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven”.

    • Leah, I really think you should read one (or more) of John Green’s books. He writes YA, but it’s incredibly well-written, very intelligent and humorous; he definitely doesn’t assume that just because his audience is teens, they must therefore be less intelligent. Anyway, my favorite is The Fault in Our Stars, but Looking for Alaska won the Printz, and a lot of people love Paper Towns, though I wasn’t a huge fan.

Leave a Reply

