TBR Thursday: Southern Festival of Books

Happy Thursday, friends.  This weekend I will be in Nashville for the Southern Festival of Books, so I thought I’d share with you a few books I can’t wait to read written by authors I’ll see this weekend.

1. Pure, by Julianna Baggott

Dystopian YA?  Yes please.  Also, requiring everyone to be trained as a soldier or be used for target practice, except those super special healthy people?  What could go wrong?

2. The Great Unexpected, by Sharon Creech

I actually got an ARC of this at BEA, but I gave it to a former student who shares my love of Sharon Creech, so I have yet to read it!  It sounds a little different from most of Creech’s work, with a little element of magic thrown in, but I’ll read anything she writes, because it tends to be amazing.

3. Pizza, Love, and Other Stuff That Made Me Famous, by Kathryn Williams

I haven’t read anything by Kathryn Williams, but this looks like a cute contemporary YA novel.  Plus, I love lists, so the title caught my attention.

4. Defiance, by CJ Redwine

A book that examines gender issues and features a kick-butt female main character who knows how to survive in the wilderness and use a sword.  Awesome.  I’m going to try my hardest not to come home with a suitcase full of books, but I might have to break down and buy this one.

5. Between Shades of Gray, by Ruta Sepetys

Not to be confused with that OTHER book with the words ‘shades of gray’ in its title, this one is actually about a Lithuanian girl during Stalin’s purges.  I love all things Eastern Europe, and I don’t read a lot of historical fiction, so I think this will be a nice change of pace.

You can find out more about the Southern Festival of Books here (plus I’m sure I’ll have lots to say after I get back!).  In the meantime, do you have any recommendations for my TBR list?  Let me know!

2 thoughts on “TBR Thursday: Southern Festival of Books

Leave a Reply

