TBR Thursday: Banned Books Week Edition

Ok friends, today I’m going to share with you a few of the many, MANY books in my TBR (that’s to be read, for those who don’t love acronyms as much as I do) pile.  I’m hoping to make this a weekly thing, but we’ll see how long it lasts.  Since this week is Banned Books Week, here are a few banned or challenged books I have yet to read:

1. Brave New World, by Aldous Huxley

I’ve been reading a lot of YA dystopian novels lately, so I think it’s time to read one of the classics.

2. The Giver, by Lois Lowry

I’m kind of ashamed to admit that I’ve never read this one.  I loved Number the Stars and the Anastasia series, but The Giver never appealed to me as a kid.  Now that I’m more a fan of dystopian novels, and the final book in the series is out, I feel like it’s time.

3. The Handmaid’s Tale, by Margaret Atwood

Another dystopian novel.  I just love them…so why not read all the ones that have been banned?

4. Slaughterhouse-Five, by Kurt Vonnegut

I know, I know.  Another one I should have read a long time ago.  That’s why it’s on the list!

5. Lord of the Flies, by William Golding

Pretty much an early version of The Hunger Games.  ‘Nuff said.

What’s on your TBR list?  Any banned books I should be reading?  Let me know!

P.S. Looking for some new reading material?  Check out this list of the 100 most banned books of 2000-2009, or this list of 50 banned books everyone should read.  Happy reading!

3 thoughts on “TBR Thursday: Banned Books Week Edition

  1. I can’t believe you haven’t read any of those 5 books! I’ve read all of them and love all of them! For banned books week, I chose to read the Absolute True Diary of a Part Time Indian….SOOO GOOD! I wish I had more time to read more banned books this week…but alas…the GREs are calling.

  2. Some of my favorite books. I’ve been on an Atwood kick for the past year, so I’d suggest Handmaid’s Tale first, but you really can’t go wrong! Freaking enjoy the crap out of those.

Leave a Reply

